Celebrating Thanksgiving with my Danish roommates

Posted: December 8, 2010 in Categorized
Tags: , ,

I know this post is a bit late, but I finally have some free time!

On Sunday Nov. 28th, I decided to make my Danish roommates an American Thanksgiving! So I spent all Sunday cooking with the assistance with one of my Danish roommates! I wanted to make it as traditional as possible but with an elegant touch. So in the days leading up to Thanksgiving, I brought back an old grade school tradition, where every Thanksgiving my class would make a ”I am Thankful Turkey”, where everyone would cut out a fall colored hand and write something they were thankful for. So my roommates decided to expand the idea to everyone that visited the apartment!  So, everyone had to fill out a Thankful hand and then on Thanksgiving day, we would hang up the ”I am Thankful Turkey”! I think everyone loved the idea and wrote a lot of things they were thankful for.

So for the day that we celebrated Thanksgiving, I even made a menu, just to give everyone an idea of what they were eating. The menu is posted below.

After a fun-filled day cooking with my Danish roommate, dinner was finally ready at around 6:30pm. Everyone dressed up and we had nice jazzy ballroom-esque music playing the whole time. I started off the dinner describing what was in each dish and giving them an idea of what we were about to eat. It was very ”hyggeligt” as the Danes would say. I think everyone liked the food, at least I hope they did! We ended off the night with a nice, feel-good movie, Bedtime Stories!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

